Everything You Need to Know About the SQE


For those seeking to become solicitors, the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) is the primary entry point into the legal profession. It was introduced in 2021 to take the place of the Law Practice Course (LPC). The SQE is the main route for both law graduates and non-law graduates wishing to be admitted as solicitors or lawyers in other jurisdictions seeking to qualify as UK solicitors. The Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA) is in charge of administering it.

The SQE consists of two main evaluations, SQE1 and SQE2, as well as a two-year requirement known as Qualified Work Experience (QWE), which evaluates your legal knowledge and skills. Although QWE can be done at any time, the only scheduling condition is that you must take SQE1 before SQE2.

Learn more about the LPC vs SQE


SQE1 consists of two tests that evaluate functional legal knowledge, FLK1 and FLK2.

Each evaluation consists of 180 questions and is administered on a different day, with each day being further divided into two sessions. You will be required to complete 90 questions in each session, which lasts roughly two and a half hours. The two sessions are separated by an hour break.


You will be required to schedule both parts of SQE2 at the same time because it contains both a written assessment and an oral skills evaluation. Using functional legal knowledge is being evaluated here.

Oral assessments

The oral exams are conducted in three cities: Cardiff, London, and Manchester. They each last for a half-day and are spread out across two days.

This puts your client-interviewing abilities and practical skills, including note-writing, to the test.

Written assessments

There are four written tests on each day of the three-day testing period. The days are divided into two sessions.

What’s the Qualifying Work Experience (QWE)?

Before candidates for the SQE can be admitted as solicitors in England and Wales, they must first pass the QWE. You must finish two years of work experience at a maximum of four organisations. Work experience, which must be supervised by an English and Welsh-qualified solicitor, should aid in the development of aspiring solicitors’ SRA competences.

What’s the cost of the SQE?

Although each exam has many assessments, the SQE1 and SQE2 are priced differently, and you must pay for each exam at once.

You must reserve your dates separately; the SQE1 costs £1,622, and money for FLK1 and FLK2 will be collected at the same time.

Both the oral assessment and written test could be scheduled at the same time for the SQE2, which costs £2,493.

If you’re enrolled in a SQE preparation course, your training provider may have provided you a voucher that you can use to pay online.

Alternatively, you can choose to go down the apprenticeship route. At Law Apprenticeships we offer a Level 7 Solicitor Apprenticeship and Level 7 Accelerated Graduate Solicitor Apprenticeship which has been created to help cover the cost for support staff and trainee solicitors qualifying as a solicitor under the new SRA’s Solicitor Qualifying Exam Scheme (SQE). Covered via 95% Government Funding this apprenticeship includes the SQE 1 and 2 exam costs (£4,564) and SQE preparation costs (over £7,200). Upon competition of this apprenticeship candidate will become qualified solicitor.

Learn more about our Level 7 Solicitor Qualifications.

Keywords: Solicitor Qualifying Exams, SQE1, SQE2, Level 7 Solicitor Apprenticeship, Level 7 Solicitor Qualification

Featured Posts

SQE Myths & Misconceptions

SQE Myths & Misconceptions The introduction of the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) has brought significant changes to the pathway of becoming a solicitor in the

Read More »